Skip to main content


Welcome Karen Romero Bello

May 20, 2021

Karen joins the lab as a new Undergraduate Research Assistant in our Biochemistry graduate program. Welcome to the lab!

Congratulations Tania!

Tania has been chosen as the recipient of the ASBMB 2021 Graduate Student Equity and Inclusion Award, supported by the Minority Affairs Committee.

Welcome Alexzandrea Woudenberg

January 5, 2021

Alexzandrea joins the lab as a new Ph.D. student in our Biochemistry graduate program. Welcome to the lab!

Controlling Kinase Activities by Selective Inhibition of Peptide SubstratesAbstract

Our colaborative work emerges in JACS. Come see how molecular imprinted nanoparticles enable controlled post-translational modification (PTM) of proteins to be performed in a previously unavailable manner.

ASMS 2020 Conference

June 1, 2020

Tania represented the lab at the annual ASMS conference and presented a poster: Mapping activation mechanisms in proline-rich tyrosine kinase 2 by H/D exchange mass spectrometry. Hooray!

Welcome Tania Palhano Zanela

Feb 1, 2020

Tania joins the lab as a new Ph.D. student in our Biochemistry graduate program. Welcome to the lab!

Congratulations Hanna Loving, Ph.D.!

April 18, 2020

Feb 26, 2020

Congratulations to Hanna Loving for successfully defending her Ph.D. thesis!

Stupka Symposium 2019, Poster competition awards

April 13, 2019

Congratulations to Natalie and Sarah for winning poster prizes at the 2019 Stupka Undergraduate Research Symposium.

Thanks 2019 LAS Dean’s High Impact Award for Undergraduate Research!

April 13, 2019

Natalie and Sarah were awarded the Summer and Fall 2019 research award for their undergraduate project proposals! Congratulations, and thanks to the LAS College for this research support!

Congratulations to Sarah, 2019/2020 Stupka Scholar

April 13, 2019

From the awards announcement: “The Rob Stupka scholarship is the most prestigious award available to BBMB undergraduate students.  Stupka scholars are selected based on their research involvement, academic achievement, dedicated contributions and sustained leadership within the BBMB undergraduate program activities.  A faculty nomination is required for consideration.  “

Congratulations to Quin Hanson for graduating as a Ph.D.

November 13, 2018

Quin begins an exciting new post-doctoral fellowship at the NIH National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences.

Sarah Zelle wins the Spring 2019 Dean's High Impact Award for Undergraduate Research

November 11, 2018

We are excited that Sarah’s undergraduate research proposal was awarded the Dean’s High Impact Award from the College of Liberal Arts and Science.

Calmodulin and phosphorylation control neuronal nitric oxide synthase dynamics

March 30, 2018

Our nNOS paper emerges in J. Mol. Biol. Come see how calmodulin induces conformational changes to activate NO production in nNOS. Phosphorylation tunes the inter-domain dynamics. Lots of allostery and HDX-MS data.

Congratulations new Linder Research fellows Sarah and Natalie!

March 08, 2018

Sarah Zelle and Natalie McClure were each awarded a Linder Family Undergraduate Research Fellowship for their project proposals.

BBMB Trivia Night

January 19, 2018

Another triumph at the departmental Spaghetti and Trivia Night! Our team eked out a win amidst fierce competition.

Neuroscience Research Day

September 23, 2017

Graciela and Hanna presented their research poster at the ISU Neuroscience Research Day. They injected the event with the glories of reductionist protein biochemistry.

Welcome, new MS

August 31, 2017

The new Synapt G2-Si mass spectrometer is up and running for HDX-MS analysis in the ISU Protein Facility. Many thanks to the Carver gift, LAS, CALS, COE, VPR, and the dozens of faculty who made this instrument acquisition possible. Now let’s ionize.

Goodbye, terra cotta G-Nomes

July 24, 2017

Hello, new aluminum G-Nomes.

Thanks NSF!

July 06, 2017

The lab is honored to have been awarded a new NSF grant in support of our research in kinase activation complexes that tune plasticity in the post-synaptic density. We are so grateful to the MCB Division for this opportunity.

IC-HDX Sweden

May 15, 2017

Many thanks for the opportunity to present our research at the first International Conference for HDX in Gothenburg, Sweden. (Hat tip to the Swedes for those prawns on rye sandwiches). It was a fantastic event, and we eagerly await the next one in Banff, Canada 2019.

ASBMB Meeting

April 26, 2017

Congratulations to Jeff and Morgan for great dual poster presentations at the ASBMB 2017 annual meeting in Chicago. They held their own against the Comic Con roiling away in the neighboring conference hall.

Stupka Symposium

April 06, 2017

As promised Jeff and Morgan gave the first simultaneous research co-seminar at the 2017 Stupka Symposium. It was epic. Tyler and Graciela also presented at the poster session. Also epic.

Congratulations Hanna!

February 17, 2017

Hanna Wokpetah has been chosen as recipient of the 2017 Roy J Carver Department of BBMB Graduate Student Award for 3rd year students. Congratulations Hanna! Wield this new power responsibly.

Our new lab website is on-line!

January 27, 2017

Look here for up-to-date news on the goings-on of our lab.

Congratulations Morgan!

October 29, 2015

Congratulations to Morgan Barrett for being selected as one of the three 2016-2017 Stupka Scholars. We look forward to her research talk with Jeff at the 2017 Stupka Symposium.

Congratulations Jeff, Morgan, and Tyler!

July 14, 2015

From the Undergraduate Student Recognition Luncheon:

Jeff Carley and Tyler Gilbreath were awarded the Linder Family Undergraduate Research Fellowship.

Morgan Barrett received the Donald and Margaret Graves Scholarship

ASMS Meeting

June 15, 2015

We made it back from the American Society for Mass Spectrometry’s 63rd annual meeting in St. Louis. Quin presented his research poster, and Eric gave a talk highlighting Jeff’s work on neuronal nitric oxide signaling proteins.

Congratulations Flora Yen!

December 04, 2014

From the departmental announcement:

"Please join me in congratulating Adrienne Smith and Flora Yen as Stupka Scholars for the 2015-2016 academic year. 

This prestigious departmental award recognizes students who have excelled in research and like Rob Stupka, have given generously of their time and energy in support of our undergraduate program activities.   They are both very active in the BBMB club and on the 2015 Stupka Undergraduate Research organizing committee.  Their leadership is highly-valued and they are both very deserving recipients."