Skip to main content


  • Professor Soukoulis received the 2015 Rolf Landauer Medal, ETOPIM International Association
  • Highly Cited Researcher as published by Thomson-Reuters, 2014-2016
  • Professor Soukoulis received the 2014 Max Born Award given by the OSA
  • Professor Soukoulis, Professor Sir J. B. Pendry, and Professor D. R. Smith received the 2013 James C. McGroddy Prize "for the discovery of metamaterials"
  • Professor Soukoulis received honorary degree from Vrije University, Brussels, Belgium, 2011
  • Frances M. Craig, Chair Professorship, Iowa State University, 2007
  • Dr. Soukoulis and his team wins the Descartes Prize for 2005
  • Distinguished Professor of Liberal Arts and Sciences, Iowa State University, 2005
  • Humboldt Research Award for Senior US Scientists, 2002
  • Fellow of the Optical Society of America, 2002
  • Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, 2002
  • Iowa State University, Outstanding Achievement in Research, 2001
  • Fellow of the American Physical Society, 1991
  • Outstanding Scientific Accomplishment in Solid State Physics (DOE Materials Science Division), 1992