Skip to main content


Current Graduate Students:

  • Mr. Jia-Hao He: Research area: Deep Learning and application in images
                             Co-major in both mathematics and  Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering (ABE)   
  • Mr Tianxinag Gao: Research area: Deep learning and neural networks.
                          Co-major in both mathematics (Math) and computer science (CS).  
  • Ms Xuping Tian: Research area: Deep learning and optimization.
                               E-mail: xupingt at
  • Mr. Manas Bhatnagar: Research area: Critical regularity and thresholds in nonlinear balance laws
                                           E-mail: manasb at

Former Graduate Students:

  • Wumaier Maimaitiyiming (PhD 2020), Post-doc at UCLA, July 1, 2020--.
  • Peimeng Yin (PhD, 2019) Post-doc at Wayne State University, 2019--2021; Oak Ridge National Lab, 2021--
    Thesis: Efficient discontinuous Galerkin (DG) methods for time–dependent fourth order problems
  • Yi Jiang (PhD, 2018) Tenure Track Faculty at Southern Illinois University Edwardsville (SIUE), Fall 2019--
    Thesis: Invariant-Region-Preserving DG methods for conservation law systems.
  • Tylor Chenhall (MS, 2015--2016) Google Inv. July 2016--
    Thesis: On the Doi-Onsager Model of Rigid Rod-Like Polymers
  • Yongki Lee (PhD, 2009--2014) Post-doc at UC Riverside, 2014-2017; Tenure Track Assistant Professor at Southern Georgia University, 2017--present.
    Thesis: Threshold dynamics in hyperbolic partial differential equations
  • Nattapol Ploymaklam (Ph.D, 2008--2014) Tenure Track Assistant Professor at Chiang Mai University, Thailand, 2014--present.
    Thesis: Numerical superposition of Gaussian beams over propagating domain for high frequency waves and high-order invariant-preserving methods for dispersive waves
  • Diana Hay (M.S., 2010-2013)  Software engineer, Des Moines, Iowa, USA.
    Thesis: On the spectrum of discontinuous Galerkin methods for linear convection-diffusion equations
  • Wenli Cai (PhD, 2013-2014), co-supervised with Prof. Ning SU,  Tsinghua University, Beijing.
    Associate Professor at China University of Mining and Technology, Beijing.
    Thesis: Numerical Methods of Solutions for Two Kinds of Nonlocal Partial Differential Equations in Biological Evolution Model
  • Wenying Lu (Ph.D, 2014) Xiantan University, co-supervised with Prof. Yunqing Huang
    Associate Professor, Hunan University of Science and Technology
    Thesis: Direct discontinuous Galerkin methods for Schroedinger equations
  • Linrui Qian (M.S., 2014) Xiantan University
    Thesis: Alternating Evolution Methods for Static Hamilton-Jacobi Equations
  • Maksym Pryporov (Ph.D. 2008-2013): Post-doc at Iowa State University, 2013-2014.
    Assistant Professor at University of Denver, 2014--2017. Engineer at OXY (Occidental Petroleum) inc. 2017--
    Thesis: Gaussian Beam Methods for the Schroedinger equation with periodic potentials and strictly symmetric hyperbolic systems
  • Hui Yu (Ph.D. 2008--2013): Post-doc at University of Toulouse and Imperial College, Sept. 2013- Sept. 2015; IGPM at RWTH Aachen University, Germany, Oct. 2015--August 2017; Tenure Track Assistant Professor at Tsinghua University, Beijing, Sept. 2017--present.
    Thesis: Entropy Satisfying and Maximum Principle Satisfying Methods for Fokker-Planck Equations
  • Xiaoliang Xie ( Ph.D 2008) : Univ. Chicago (2008--2009); CTO, CalmCar Vehile Vision System Inc. Tianjin, China.  
    Thesis: Large time stepping methods for higher order time-dependent evolution equations.
  • Haseena Amhed (Ph.D 2008) : Bay area in California (2008--).
    Thesis: High resolution alternating evolution schemes for hyperbolic conservation laws and Hamilton-Jacobi equations
  • Zhongming Wang ( Ph.D 2008) : Post-Doc, UCSD(2008-2011); Tenure Track faculty at Florida International Univ. Miami 2011--present.
    Thesis: Development of level set methods for computing the semiclassical limit of Schroedinger equations with potentials
  • Jin-Young Guo (M.S. 2010), Korea
  • Hung Phan ( M.S., 2006)
  • Eric Blabac ( M.S.,   2003-2005)

Post-docs and visitors:

  • Hairui Wen (Visitor, Sept 2015-- August 2016): Faculty at Beijing Institute of Technology
  • Nianyu Yi (Visitor, January - May 2016) ISU, now Faculty at Xiangtan University
  • Terrance Pendleton (post-doc, 2013-2016): Assistant Professor, Department of Mathematics and Computer Science, Drake University, Des Moines, IA 50311, 2016-- present.
  • Michael Polack (post-doc, 2011--2016)
  • Zheng Chen (2014-2015) ISU, then post-doc at Oak Ridge National Lab; Tenure track faculty at University of Massachusetts Dartmouth, 2018--.
  • Jing Wang (Post-doc, 2013-2014) Madison, Madison.
  • Nianyu Yu (Post-doc, Sept. 2011-- Feb. 2012) 
  • Tae Gab Ha (2010-- 2011) Pusan National University, Pusan, Korea.
  • Jaemin Shin (Postdoc, 2008-2009) then IMA post-doc, 2010-2012. Faculty at Department of Mathematical Sciences and Institute for Applied Mathematics and Optics, Hanbat National University, Daejeon 34158, Korea. 2014--


Fall 2015
Fall 2015
Spring 2015
Spring 2015
Fall 2013
Fall 2013
Spring 2012
Spring 2012
Fall 2011
Fall 2011